What a world we live in, eh?

But stronger people than me have already written plenty of political posts, so I shall refrain. And pray hard. And keep teaching my students to be critical thinkers, able to call out logical fallacies, to fight for truth and justice, and to understand each other, even when they feel they cannot love each other.

I realize I haven’t updated in a while. That’s for two reasons: we’ll start with the negative.

– Work is insane. Please never think that teachers do what they do solely for a paycheck (it’s lousy) or for vacations (they don’t balance out the hours lost during grading, at least for English). It requires so much to truly and holistically help each student, and since I volunteer with clubs on top of that, I am getting physically and mentally drained. My students are so worth it, but… I may have to cut back soon. Because…

+ I’m pregnant! I’m turning food into a people! hahaha. My app says that today, 25 weeks, “baby is as big as a rutabaga and uterus is the size of a soccer ball.” Whoaaaaaa life-making is a weird game. :) My son is kicking me as we speak (that’s not true, because we aren’t speaking and I can’t predict when you’ll read this, so… “as I type”) and is due late February but will probably hang out until early March, since that’s when my parents are planning to go on vacation. He’s been a stinker so far so why wouldn’t he continue the pattern with his actual birth? P.S. birthing classes are pretty terrifying. Birth is terrifying. Humans ought to lay eggs. My mom had better not be on vacation when I need her in the hospital!

+ I’ve finally been writing again. I suck at revisions, and I haven’t been able to make myself sit down and do them when so many other work- and life-demands abound. But, I had an inspiration for a new novel–your only hint is that it hit me while I was watching the new “The Jungle Book” adaptation–so I’m chasing it. My favorite writing program, Scrivener, made an iOS app, so I can keep everything organized even when I’m away from my computer. I’ve continued the project into NaNoWriMo, which I didn’t think I would dare to do this year… but writing in “sprints” of 10 minutes when I can squeeze them in, and using my evening time better (a.k.a. not scrolling through social media) has proven effective in keeping my word count strong.

So… that’s my world right now. I’m also in the midst of reading a novel from an author I like, Jane Lindskold. I was wandering through the bookstore and was struck by inspiration to see what she’s written lately, since I sort of forgot about her after the series I loved (the wolf/Firekeeper one) ended. The only novel B&N had in stock from her was “Artemis Awakening,” whose description sounded a bit like Westworld but not quite so dark. It’s creative and even though I still have a few chapters to go, I recommend it. Next up will be Marissa Meyer’s new (and first post-Lunar-Chronicles) novel, “Heartless.” I’m excited for it! (Even if the protagonist will eventually become an antagonist and she shares my name and I don’t like villains taking my name…)

Oh ALSO P.S. I was Rey for Halloween and made my baby bump into BB-8. I want to wear my Rey outfit every day because 2016 is stupid so why not cosplay as a strong female Jedi warrior 24/7?!? I won’t, I won’t. I’m not that weird. But know that I THINK ABOUT IT.

img_0364bright

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

