Bring on 2016

I guess I forgot to update how NaNoWriMo 2015 went! I worked on a mixture of revising old words from the Copper manuscript and writing new scenes (from other characters’ perspectives as well as hers), so it wasn’t all 100% original writing, but I managed to get 60,000+ words this time–a personal record. I have a lot of work left to do on it… but once December 1st hit, I had to pay some attention to the stack of essays and other grading that I had been ignoring. :( Darn work.

2015 has been a good year as far as goals go. I made a New Year’s Resolution to lose weight, because I vaguely think about it every year, and then summer hits and I’ve done nothing about it and get totally discouraged. So this time, I used MyFitnessPal regularly to log my calories, let myself splurge once in a while, walked the dog 5 days a week, and worked up to running with the dog… I couldn’t even run a mile without stopping to huff and puff in January, I now run 5K mileage almost every Saturday without feeling like death at all! My total weight loss for the year is about 33 pounds, putting me well within a normal BMI range (I know there are a lot of issues with BMI charts, but being here in the “normal” makes me feel much better, as I was in the “overweight” category for my height last January 1st. Blech.)

As much as I love Christmas, I don’t love the holiday weight gain that comes with my difficulty in turning down delicious Christmas cookies. However, my sister and I got severe food poisoning on the 22nd, so I was too weak to enjoy any holiday food and therefore avoided all the potential weight gain! Way to find a silver lining in a horrible vomit-filled experience, right?

As far as writing goals go, well, I still don’t have any of my novel rough drafts fully revised… so that will have to be a focus for 2016. I don’t like to write strict resolutions because then I focus on how far I am from the goal line, rather than how much progress I’ve made toward the goal line, but I think forcing myself to fully revise Copper is a fair goal to publicize.

With life goals, I want to improve my 5K time (I’m a slow runner–but at least I’m running!) and… excuse my language… learn to stop giving a fuck about things that don’t fit into my fuck budget.

In case that sounds confusing, yesterday I sat down with my journal and a copy of Sarah Knight’s “The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck” and figured out exactly what things bring me joy–things I want to devote my time, energy, and money to–and what things bring on the annoy–things I need to quit wasting my time, energy, and money on. What I appreciated most about her book is that she understands how much of a burden guilt is–how much we don’t want to hurt the feelings of those who (probably unconsciously) are draining our time, energy, or money. So she recommends a lot of word play, which my writer self can appreciate, to help mitigate potential sore feelings. The book is also split into sections to help you ramp up into the places it’s hardest to fight back against, moving from “things” to “work” to “friends/acquaintances” to “family.”

I highly recommend this book. I struggle so much to say “no!”, but after reading and completing the worksheets in her book, I feel much better equipped to face things that stress me out and make them stop. I hope to be much less overwhelmed (I often feel, like Bilbo, “butter over too much bread”) and therefore more pleasant in the upcoming months. The Pantone color of the year for 2016, by the way, is “serenity” (blue)… I’m thinking a “serenity” year is in my future! [Color and Seinfeld references welcome. No Firefly ones though. I like my Firefly completely free of the atrocious Serenity connection.] Maybe I will even look into the original book, “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up.” Haha, who am I kidding? I’m messy! Let’s not overload the goals! ;)

So yeah! 2015 treated me well. I’m excited to see what 2016 will bring, as I become a better writer, faster runner, and more mentally healthy woman. I hope my readers conquer some goals in 2016 too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Writing

Leave a Reply

