writing life

Gosh I love summer.

Or July, at least. For this tiny stretch of time–August doesn’t count, because we teachers start up trainings and need to do lesson planning again–I have no boss. I can wake up as early or as late as I want (except I feel guilty if I sleep past 9:00). As long as I don’t totally ignore all of my friends and family, who feel ignored all school year and need some attention over the summer, I am free to spend all of my time reading and writing.

Here’s an outline of my typical day over the past few weeks: wake up at 7:30, jog with the dog for 45 minutes, shower, make coffee, and sit down to write. I get to about 1,000 words before I need a break. Then I putz around the internet, checking Facebook and Twitter, and sometimes watch an episode of something interesting (The Librarians, Friends, Chopped, etc.). That usually brings me to somewhere between 11:00 and 12:00, so I make lunch and get re-energized. Then I can run through my final 700-900 words for the day, back up my work, and take the dog for a short walk around the condo complex so we can both stretch our legs again. Then my afternoon is free to read (or run errands, boo) before Jeff gets home from work around 5:00.

I feel like a real writer today because all I’ve had so far this morning is copious amounts of coffee and bacon (and I’m within 200 words of my daily writing goal). Add in a cigarette–if smoking wasn’t absolutely pointless, harmful, and disgusting–and I could fit right in to the classic cartoon image of a writer.

Last night I couldn’t fall asleep because I had all kinds of questions about the world of Copper running through my head. I invented the magic system when I was 12 and have been using it all this time, but it doesn’t have the realism necessary to the fantasy genre I’m going for. As I mulled it over, a ton of puzzle pieces fit together and I can fully picture the price of magic, its mechanics, the power struggle over time, and a bunch of other things I’ve never taken the time to consider. Holding this entire other world in my head is incredibly exhausting and rewarding. For the first time in a while, though, I feel like I’m making major progress.

I’ve been taking comfort from these wise words:
Picture-5

NaNoWriMo (and Camp) have been essential deadlines for me. The effort, practice, and revision required to become a strong writer are encouraged and honed in discipline during the months that I stick to a daily word count like NaNo provides. That “special thing” is slowly, bit by bit appearing in my work…

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “writing life

  1. You’re guilty for sleeping PAST 9AM?!!?! Gosh if I wake up at 10AM during the holidays I call it a victory…. :P

    • I know, I know! I remember the good old days when I could sleep until 11:00. But now that I’m up before 5:00 a.m. on work days, I get to 9:00 on the weekends/vacation and start thinking “I lost 4 hours!! Think of everything I could have done!!” The good old Puritan work ethic of my ancestors, guilting me to get the day going…

Leave a Reply

