favorite author…(s)

Recently, a student asked me who my favorite author is… and I realized I don’t have an easy answer. So here are my musings on that question. I can name favorite authors for different aspects of the reading experience, and followed each label with the titles of the books that come to mind:

Favorite oeuvre, male: C.S. Lewis
Till We Have Faces, The Chronicles of Narnia, Mere Christianity, The Great Divorce, The Four Loves, The Screwtape Letters, Of Other Worlds, Surprised by Joy, The Abolition of Man, An Experiment in Criticism, the Space Trilogy

Favorite oeuvre, female: Jane Austen
   Pride & Prejudice, Emma, Persuasion, Northanger Abbey, Sense & Sensibility, Mansfield Park

Favorite prose: Ian McEwan
   Atonement, Sweet Tooth, Amsterdam

Favorite badass feminist protagonists: Tamora Pierce
   The Immortals, The Song of the Lioness, Tricksters

Favorite humorous writer: Christopher Moore
   Lamb: The Gospel of Christ According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal; You Suck, A Love Story; The Stupidest Angel; A Dirty Job; Practical Demon-Keeping

Favorite capturer of childhood: Zilpha Keatley Snyder
   Libby on Wednesdays, The Changeling, The Egypt Game

Favorite transporter to a magical, strange place: Neil Gaiman
   Anansi Boys, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Stardust, Good Omens, Neverwhere, Coraline, American Gods

Favorite newest discovery: Sarah J. Maas
   Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire, The Assassin’s Blade

There we have it… but even that giant list is not enough, because there are other authors swimming around in my head who I wish I had room for. I’m bad at making decisions, so choosing one “favorite” is, clearly, impossible for me to accomplish. I love hearing about other people’s favorite authors and books, though!

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading

Leave a Reply

