“I Write Like”

So, I had just enough free time to mess around with a site called “I Write Like,” where one copies and pastes their work into a little box that analyzes it to say whose writing style it’s closest to.

I put in the first five paragraphs of Copper and got…

“Stephenie Meyer.”

So then I tried to think about where the nearest bridge was that I could leap off of, but got over it fairly quickly once I’d decided to (frantically) do a “best 3 out of 5” thing.

Different paragraphs: Ursula K. Le Guin (Wizard of Earthsea).

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 12.03.14 AM

Later paragraphs: Neil Gaiman (Anansi Boys, Stardust, and one million other things).

I kept copying and pasting different sections of text from all throughout the novel until I’d received Neil three times and Ursula five times. Stephenie never came up again.

So, I feel much better than I initially did (I mean, seriously… I want to write YA fantasy with humor, so Ursula K. Le Guin + Neil Gaiman??? I know these results aren’t a perfect truth–it’s just one guy’s little site–but I WILL TAKE IT AND SQUEEZE IT AND CALL IT GEORGE), and now understand that I have to rewrite my first page…

because the last thing I want is a publisher reading my work “with chagrin,” quitting after the first page, and tossing it onto the NO pile. ;)

P.S. Plugging my various blog posts into the site, including short stories like “Homeless & Horses” and the Fairy Tales, kept spitting back Gertrude Stein, J.R.R. Tolkien, and Anne Rice. I guess I’m quite a mix! Hopefully with all the work I plan to do in the next few weeks, I’ll be further solidifying my own unique style.

P.P.S. Then I realized I should use book 2, the in-progress Copper book of the trilogy, to see if I maintained consistency in my writing style this time around. And I got back Ursula four times and Neil Gaiman once! So yesss… I’m onto something here…

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to ““I Write Like”

  1. Stephanie Meyer….. hahah… I have to try this out. I hope I don’t get something terrible.

  2. I tried it out and kept getting different responses for almost every one. The best were Stephen King and J.D. Salinger, I also got the writer of “Gone with The Wind”, a few people I didn’t know, and Dan Brown. I guess I’m still solidifying my own writing style too :-P ;)

Leave a Reply

