Bye, Frisco :(

Frisco, my family’s dog since I was 15-ish, passed away yesterday after a short battle with congenitive heart failure.

So I am deep in mourning. :(

Frisco was so important to my life. My family moved for the first time after my freshman year of high school, and I was devastated. I was so shy and introverted that I could NOT imagine how I was going to make any new friends. We got Frisco shortly after moving and he really saved me. Having a dog truly makes life better; what is there to fear when the dog is standing guard? Who needs to worry about friends when there is a faithful companion always waiting at home for you? He gave me the happiness and confidence boost that I needed as a teenager to hang in there.

And he was funny, too.

Frisco the birthday boy... with a bag on his head.

Frisco the birthday boy… with a bag on his head.

Jenny and Frisco do circus tricks

Jenny and Frisco do circus tricks

me and Frisco being silly

me and Frisco being silly

sit!

sit!

Frisco & Jenny on Christmas with new toys

Frisco & Jenny on Christmas with new toys

blurry but still good

blurry but still good

ah yes, back when his teeth were white ;)

ah yes, back when his teeth were white ;)

He was a purebred Australian Shepherd, once destined for the show ring, but then his freckles grew in and those “aren’t allowed.” So he was sold off and eventually given to us by a family friend when he was 9 or 10 months old. (And we LOVED his freckles). He was very smart, learned lots of tricks, and protected his family… like the time my cousin Jonathan was tickling me, and I screamed, and Frisco came to bite him in the butt. :)

Frisco and the fam at Balboa Island

Frisco and the fam at Balboa Island

so proper!

so proper!

such a freckly face. :)

such a freckly face. :)

100_0266

Baby Frisco and baby Jenny!

Baby Frisco and baby Jenny!

stop and smell the roses!

stop and smell the roses!

It’s difficult for people who haven’t loved a dog to understand the depth with which one can love a dog. Frisco had such a distinct personality and was always so loving and cuddly. He was a brilliant family dog who kept us happy and safe.

I drifted away from him since I had to leave for college and the rest of life, so this doesn’t feel 100% the same as when Barney, my first childhood dog died, but I am still incredibly sad. My little sister is 12 (well, 13 as of today, weeeeird), the same age I was when Barney passed, so I know exactly how much this sucks for her and wish there was something I could say to make it better. But there isn’t anything. Our dogs are irreplaceable and leave a hole in our heart, and I can’t believe I’m not going to hear Frisco barking at the door when I go visit my parents anymore.

Frisco on the couch, 2007-ish

Frisco on the couch, 2007-ish

Frisco on the couch, 2013

Frisco on the couch, 2013

Christmas Frisco!

Christmas Frisco!

one of my favorite pictures of Frisco and me :)

one of my favorite pictures of Frisco and me :)

good boy.

good boy.

I’m sad and hope you excuse the multitude of pictures. It’s nice to have the memories saved.

He was a good dog.

7 Comments

Filed under Life

7 responses to “Bye, Frisco :(

  1. Michelle Habell

    I’m so sorry hun. It’s hard losing a furry family member.

  2. Hi Cathy. I write fantasy too, and lost our German Shepherd, Raen yesterday. I just finished a post about her and got a link to this, and it sounds like Raen and Frisco would have had much in common.. Our dog friends give us so much, such pure love, and I hope Raen and Heidi are the first ‘people’ I see in heaven.

    • Wow, Raen really was beautiful! And I love her “Lord of the Rings”-inspired name. I’m sorry for your loss. :(
      Thank you for taking the time to read about Frisco. I really loved him and agree, the pure love of a dog is so powerful and important. I hope he finds my family’s first dog, Barney, up in heaven so they can run free and without pain and be ready to greet me when it’s my turn. :)

      • Thanks, Cathy. I am sure Barney will find Frisco, as I am sure Heidi will find Raen…Friscoe carries your scent and odor of your love, no doubt Barney will recognize it. And they will frolic together till you are reunited.

  3. Aunt Michelle

    oh, honey! I am so sorry! we would always laugh when we’d knock on your door and hear this “ferocious” dog barking on the other side. he was happiest when he was in the middle of everyone, in the midst of our big fat Italian family. I will miss him dearly.
    love,
    aunt michelle

  4. WP

    I am so sorry to hear that Frisco has gone to the great doggy park in the sky and I have tears in my eyes even though typing the earlier words made me smile. As did reading your post. Laughing and crying at the same time. I love my dogs and, oh, how many animal friends I have made and lost over the years. But love is never really lost and we have been blessed by these best friends who, Lord willing, we will meet again one day.

Leave a Reply

