“The Fault in Our Stars”

I decided that I needed a treat due to being successful so far in my teaching, ahead on my word count, and mostly I just haven’t bought a new book for myself in a long time and I’m not used to that. I’ve really wanted to read John Green’s “The Fault in Our Stars”–the reviews both from the land of the internet and from my personal acquaintances have all been really great–and basically, I bought it and started it right away and accidentally finished it in a day.

What can I say? I’m a fast reader sometimes.

The book was amazing. I know “amazing” is not a very descriptive word and has lost a lot of its meaning in the past few years, but it really was. I laughed, I cried, I couldn’t put it down.

the-fault-in-our-stars book cover

The basic summary is that Hazel, our first person narrator, has cancer (thyroid, lungs, etc.) and is forced to go to a support group by her well-intentioned mother. She makes friends there and meets Augustus (one-legged due to cancer), with whom she falls in love. They both read a book that brings them closer together and even leads to a bit of adventure. There are twists along the way, some much more surprising than others, and you can make your own assumptions about why I cried at the end.

I thought Green really captured a great first person perspective; so often first person sounds awkward (*cough*StephenieMeyer*cough*), but not this. Even if you don’t have a personal connection to cancer sufferers (though I do), the pain of the characters is real, and their love story is powerful, too, despite their young ages. The family dynamics added a lot of depth, and the amount of humor and little jokes sprinkled all throughout kept me chuckling through all the tears.

Cathy’s vote: highly recommended. Go buy it, and read it, but not in public (because TEARS). I had the Kindle version so I have no idea how thick the book was or what the cover/any inner art looked like (until I Googled the cover to include in this blog, haha).

I’ve been meaning to read Green’s “An Abundance of Katherines”–on the principle that I am a Catherine and should read books with my name–but now that I’ve actually seen his skill on the page, I’ll finally get around to it.

____________

On another note…

look how colorful and flag-filled my stats-view map was immediately after my last post, on Tuesday!

HI MULTICULTURAL FRIENDS

HI, MULTICULTURAL FRIENDS!

It was exciting. hahaha.

4 Comments

Filed under Reading

4 responses to ““The Fault in Our Stars”

  1. Kristy Hicks

    You should really read Paper Towns by him too. It was my favorite until The Fault in Our Stars came out. And I HIGHLY recommend checking out his video blogs that he does with his brother Hank on YouTube. This was John’s most recent one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N2X1gA5apcU&list=UUGaVdbSav8xWuFWTadK6loA&index=2 (the videos aren’t all that intense… they’re kind of like The Fault in Our Stars that way–serious and funny intermittently.)

  2. Pingback: search terms | Cathy Writes Fantasy

Leave a Reply

