Camp NaNoWriMo and a new resource

Just checking in…

My Camp NaNoWriMo adventure is going strong: I passed the halfway point by day 9, thanks to my double-duty the first week of April (3,500 words a day). So now I can cruise along at 1,200 words a day and still reach 50,000 words by the end of the month. Hopefully the story will still have room after that–I’ve said before that I need to get better at expanding my books to viable selling points closer to 80,000 words. Right now I have a little more than 34,000 words written.

Book 2 of Copper’s story is definitely much slower than the first one, and of course much slower than the planned third one where everything comes to a crazy head. I’m going to have to go back through some of my favorite trilogies to see how those authors made the middle story work. I distinctly remember feeling like the middle story was basically useless in “The Golden Compass” trilogy and don’t want to end up in that situation myself.

I’ve earned a bunch of “badges” in Camp NaNoWriMo, by the way, and those are kind of fun. They don’t mean anything but are nice to have. ;)

And can I just say: “I love writing!” It’s so great to have a job I love now, and get to spend all morning teaching, only to come home and work on writing next… it makes me so happy. Life is MUCH better than it was merely a few short weeks ago.

I’ve also found a new writing resource! It was on a reddit thread somewhere, which I’ve since lost track of, so I can’t really give credit for the discovery where it’s due. Lo siento.
Here’s the link! Click me click me

It’s ambient noise! I didn’t think I would like it at first, but gave it a try and have loved it. There’s a “cafe” option and a “rain” option. I preferred the rain one at first, but there is a weird high-pitched part in it that got bothersome. If you’re old enough to have lost your ability to hear that frequency, though, it could be great! haha. The other option, cafe, is what I have been using more often. (In fact, I’m composing this post with it on in the background now). For whatever reason, it helps keep me focused. Hopefully it’s a useful tool for others, too. And if you really want, you can turn on both at the same time! Hence its name, the Rainy Cafe.

(Side note, though: the cafe setting REALLY confuses my dog. Poor Benny always wanders the house for the first few minutes, trying to find where the other people are…)

Now back to meeting my wordcount–let no day pass unachieved, right? :)

5 Comments

Filed under Writing

5 responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo and a new resource

  1. You need to find a little cheerleader app. You know, something that cheers you on as you continue to write.
    “Go Cathy go! Write those words! Or you’ll be trampled by elephant herds!”
    It doesn’t necessarily have to rhyme.

  2. Yay! I’m so happy to hear you’re happily teaching and writing–two things I think God created you to do. :) Your word count output amazes and humbles me!

Leave a Reply

